Washington Auto Insurance Requirements

With the recent rise in the number of accidents auto insurance has now become a necessity for all car users. It is one of the many reasons why the authorities at almost all the states of the US are making it mandatory upon all the car owners to have at least minimum insurance for their vehicles. Auto insurance allows you to pay for heaps of damages that you may incur in the event of an accident assuring that you do not have to sell your assets to cover the damages resulting from traffic collisions. The purpose of insurance is to assist you financially against any damage and further liabilities that might result from an accident.

The auto insurance laws in Washington, the ‘evergreen state’ is under the authority of the Washington State Department of licensing that has made it binding upon all drivers to carry auto liability insurance and also a proof of their insured vehicle at all times of the use. According to Washington auto insurance requirements it is essential for all motor vehicle owners to have a minimum level of liability insurance with the exceptions of those using motor cycles, motor scooters, collector vehicles or other government owned vehicles.

According to the Washington auto insurance requirements a motorist must carry liability limits of at least $25,000 for injuries or death to another person, $50,000 for injuries or death to all other people and $10,000 for damage to another person’s property with an additional liability bond of at least $60,000. After getting done with all the formalities of getting a car insurance, your company will then issue you with an insurance card or certificate that you will be required to show as a proof, every time a law enforcement officer stops you or when you are required to. Unlike some states in the US, the state of Washington requires you to carry a proof of insurance at all times of your driving experience.

In order to get your vehicle registered it is essential to have at least one of these; auto insurance, self insurance, certificate of deposit and liability bond.

Choose Your State