The roads and weather of Alaska make driving conditions challenging, and increase the risk of accidents. If you live in Alaska, car insurance can help you avoid the huge cost of medical bills and repairs your vehicle may require. The state of Alaska requires all drivers to carry proof of financial responsibility on them at all times. This requirement helps to put the drivers at ease in case they are in an accident because all drivers will be financially protected.
Driving without insurance is a serious offense, and you run the risk of having your license and vehicle registration suspended by the Division of Motor Vehicles. Not having car insurance also puts a lot of financial pressure on you because a serious accident can cost you thousands of dollars in medical and repair bills.
If you wish to determine the amount of protection you need, you should consult with a car insurance agency and list out all the assets in your vehicle that you wish to protect. Your driving history, your credit score, and your age are all determinants in how much you will pay for coverage. The state of Alaska has set a minimum requirement of coverage which must be met by all vehicle owners. However, many insurance companies will encourage you to choose a policy which offers slightly extra coverage.
The added protection can come in handy. The minimum amounts of coverage in Alaska for car insurance are:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage.
Alaska is a state that places a higher emphasis on bodily injury liability than other states. However, this is a good thing because you would not want to be involved in an accident where there was a doubt of being able to cover your medical costs.
Some regions of Alaska are subject to slightly different car insurance requirements. Drivers in a few parts of the state are exempt from carrying insurance. Before you purchase your policy, it is a good idea to find out what requirements you must fulfill in order to buy the right policy.
Choose Your State
Q:Which factors are taken into consideration when determining Alaska auto insurance rates?
A:Insurance carriers will calculate the risk associated with providing your policy by collecting statistical data. The information comes from several factors including your age, gender, vehicle type, location and marital status. In addition to this they will consider your driving record, annual mileage, credit score and accident history. Based on this information, they will calculate your chances of causing an accident. Insurance premiums go up if you have a higher probability of causing an accident.
Q:Can you give me some information on Alaska car insurance laws?
A:In the state of Alaska motorists must meet the minimum insurance requirements. This amounts to $50,000 in bodily injury limit per person, $100,000 of bodily injury limit per accident and $25,000 in property damage. There are some areas in Alaska that are exempted from car registration and hence insurance policy requirements.