In Florida car insurance is mandatory. The state of Florida requires from its registered drivers to be able to prove that they can take financial responsibility for any incident in which they or their vehicle are involved. For this purpose, Florida has enacted Financial Responsibility Law and No-Fault Law demanding that the motorists buy insurance for their vehicles in order to legally drive them on the state's roads and highways.
There are more than one ways to establish financial responsibility for a vehicle in Florida; purchasing a liability insurance from an insurance company authorized to do business in the state, happens to be the most favored option by the motorists. A registered vehicle in Florida must have the following to meet the state's Financial Responsibility Law:
- $10,000 for one person in bodily injury liability
- $20,000 for two or more persons in bodily injury liability
- $30,000 in combined single limits
- $10,000 per accident in property damage liability
In addition to meeting the requirements of the state's Financial Responsibility Law, registered motorists, irrespective of whether their vehicle is mobile or not, must also satisfy the requirements of No-Fault Law. To meet the requirements, a motorist must have:
- $10,000 per crash in property damage liability
- $10,000 per person/accident in personal injury protection
Failure to show a proof of insurance can land a motorist in serious trouble. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FDHSMV) can suspend a motorist's driving privileges along with his/her vehicle's registration and license plate for as long as three years or till the motorist is able to establish a proof of financial responsibility. Reinstatement of driving privileges in Florida do not come cheap; a convicted motorist may be fined as much as $500 in the form of license reinstatement fee.
In short, driving is not a right but a privilege in Florida. Therefore do not drive if your vehicle is not adequately covered otherwise if you are pulled over, asked for a proof of insurance and you fail to show one, your driving privileges may be suspended.
Choose Your State
Q:How do i update car insurance with Florida dmv?
A:If you have made any changes to your car insurance policy you can notify the DMV office. These changes are recorded and kept by the DMV office. In some cases, the insurance company will notify the DMV for you. To learn more about this, feel free to browse through our site for detailed information.
Q:What are the options for cheap car insurance in Florida?
A:There are numerous car insurance policies that you can choose from. NO matter what policy you choose, make sure you are fulfilling the minimum car insurance in Florida. You can get help in finding low costs insurance plans online. We also offer detailed information about car insurance and quotes, browse through our page and see for yourself.
Q:What can you tell me about Florida car insurance requirements?
A:Individuals in Florida who own a car must make sure it is insured. The department of motor vehicles in this state has set a few minimum requirements for car insurance. These are: $10,000 for property damage, $20,000 bodily injuries and damage for more than one person, and $10,000 for bodily injuries for one person.