The state of Maine is one of the best states to live. Maine is ranked among the top five states for most educated, and residents have one of the best healthcare policies in the country. The state also enjoys low crime rate and high employment rate. To keep the standard of living high, the state of Maine has passed many laws; violation of these laws incurs state sponsored penalties.
The state of Maine has less than one million licensed drivers. Only those who meet certain driving and safety standards are issued a driver’s license. It is illegal to operate a vehicle without a driver’s license or a non-expired driver’s license in Maine. Those who have not insured their cars may also have their driving privileges suspended.
If you own a car, you must have it insured. If you are in a car accident, this will protect you from liabilities incurred, especially if you are found to be the guilty party. Therefore, you should buy your Maine car insurance policy according to the following requirements:
- Medical payments coverage - $2,000 per person
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage - $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage - $25,000 per accident
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage - $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
The abovementioned is the minimum requirement that your car insurance policy must be insured against; this does not determine the monthly premium of your insurance policy. There are many car insurance providers in Maine that you can get your policy from. So do shop around and sign up with the one who at least offers the minimum requirements. You should check with several insurance companies to check their rates. Depending upon who you are dealing with, the insurance company may provide you with an insurance quote online. You may also call their representative or visit a local insurance office. Whatever it is that you decide to do, make sure that your car is insured and you carry its proof in your car at all times, so that your vehicle registration is not suspended by the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
Choose Your State
Q:Can you tell me about cheap car insurance in Maine?
A:Maine has some of the lowest insurance rates and premiums in the nation. It is not that difficult to find low cost insurance programs here. However, the minimum insurance requirements may higher as compared to other states. Good driving records, strong credit history, and other factors may help in getting cheap insurance.
Q:What are the various Maine car insurance requirements and are they different from most other states?
A:The car insurance requirements in Maine are significantly different that those in other states. This is most pronounced in the minimum liability coverage requirements, which are $50,000 at least for injuries or death caused to one person or $100,000 for a single accident as well as $ 25,000 for property damage.