To legally drive a vehicle in Nebraska, you must make sure you have a license, registration, and car insurance. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Nebraska makes sure all drivers have insured vehicles. Nebraska car insurance laws require all vehicles to be insured, and anyone caught with an uninsured vehicle can face legal fines. With the increasing number of vehicle owners and drivers, the risk of accidents has also increased at the same time. According to research, car accidents are the number one cause of deaths. It is the core aim of the DMV to enforce traffic laws and ensure the roads are safe for the public. Drivers must be educated and must pass a series of tests to be legally allowed to drive in Nebraska.
Car insurance is basically seeking financial protection for all kinds of vehicle accidents. Although the loss of life and bodily damage can’t be measured in monetary terms, it is still important that one has insurance to pay for healthcare expenses and car damage. Every state has minimum vehicle requirements that must be complied with. In Nebraska, no car seller is allowed to sell a car without insurance. Drivers must be aware of these minimum requirements.
The most basic car insurance policy is liability insurance. Under this policy, one can get coverage for all car damage and medical costs due to a car accident. The major disadvantage of this insurance plan is that it does not pay for the policy holder’s healthcare cost or vehicle damage. On the other hand, one can also seek basic insurance for collision, motorist protection, and theft.
The benefits of insurance can’t be denied. If you are involved in an accident and are uninsured, you may be at risk of facing a lawsuit by the affected party. In this situation, you will have to personally pay for all the damage caused. This can be a serious financial burden and could put your assets at risk. With insurance, you will have financial protection for expenses due to a car accident. Be sure to speak with several insurance agencies to find a policy that provides sufficient coverage and that fits within your budget.
Choose Your State
Q:What are the basic Nebraska car insurance requirements?
A:All cars in the state of Nebraska need to be insured. Following are the minimum insurance requirements: $25,000 for death or injury per person in a single accident, $50,000 for total damage per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Take a look at our pages for more information about car insurance in Nebraska.
Q:According to car insurance laws Nebraska, do I have to carry an insurance certificate with me at all times?
A:Yes, you must keep proof of insurance whenever you are out driving. Law enforcement officers have the right to pull you over and ask for insurance proof. Proof of insurance can be provided in the form of a certificate or an insurance identification card. Contact your insurance company and find out more about insurance certificates.