In Oregon, you can get fined, have your vehicle towed or have your driving privileges suspended if you are found without auto insurance. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has specific laws for Oregon car insurance. For insurance against bodily injury a driver should have at least $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others and $25,000 per person. For property damage liability a driver should have at least $20,000 per crash, for personal injury protection at least $15,000 per person, and for uninsured motorists at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. To make sure you are obeying Oregon car insurance rules, the DMV posts letters to random house addresses requesting auto insurance information, which it then double checks with the insurances agencies.
When you register a vehicle or purchase a permit for a light vehicle trip you have to certify that you have this insurance and will continue to abide by it. If you have a car accident you have to go to the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles and record a Traffic Accident and Insurance Report which will include the policy number and your insurance company's name. Hence it is recommended that as vehicle owner, always keep some proof of Oregon car insurance inside your car.
This can include the insurance papers, a DMV Certificate of Self-Insurance on the owner's name or a signed letter by the insurance agent on an official letterhead. Please note that some vehicles are legally excused from the required insurance under Oregon law; these are non-operational vehicles, snowmobiles, personal mobility devices and motor-assisted scooters, farm trailers and tractors, and collector cars used only for events like vintage car shows. To find out more about whether your vehicle falls under an exempted category visit your nearest DMV.
Oregon also has a provisional Class C instruction permit to allow drivers fifteen to seventeen years old to drive, with some restrictions. Oregon car insurance laws are a bit different and can be intimidating. Take time to understand them before setting off on the road, and be safe.
Choose Your State
Q:What are the minimum car insurance requirements as I have very strained finances?
A:The basic minimum requirements for insurance coverage are $25,000 for addressing the bodily injury and death to one person and $50,000 for covering each accident. The minimum amount that is required to cover property damage is $20,000. See other sections on our site for more details and relevant information related to Oregon car insurance.
Q:Are there any helpful tips for getting the best possible car insurance quotes Oregon?
A:The most effective way to find the most attractive car insurance quotes in Oregon is to shop around as much as possible. With the large variety of online resources these days, it is quite easy to do a quick comparison of the quotes offered by different insurance providers. This strategy is so effective that you can actually end up saving several hundred dollars annually on insurance premiums.