Car insurance is a highly recommended necessity if you wish to legally drive in the United States. Traffic laws and regulations on proper driving practices, as well as the amount of insurance you require, vary with every state. Utah car insurance requirements are specific to all Utah vehicle owners and drivers.
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) states the minimum amount of coverage you need for car insurance in Utah. You must furnish proof of meeting these requirements whether you are registering a vehicle or when you apply for a license. They reflect your financial responsibility as a driver, and ensure that you are doing your part to protect your assets and loved ones. It also shows that you are contributing to the state’s efforts in creating a safer driving environment for other motorists. The minimum amount of liability insurance Utah requires is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $65,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident for property damage.
You are also required to carry Personal Injury Protection coverage of at least $3,000. This is because Utah has a no-fault law, which means that the insurance agency will pay your medical expenses as well. Carrying surplus coverage is recommended because you are able to meet the state’s requirements and also provide a better safety net in the event of an emergency.
Failure to carry proof of Utah car insurance is a class B misdemeanor, punishable with fines of up to $400 for a first offense. Your license and registration will also be suspended until you obtain an insurance policy and provide proof to the DMV and law enforcement. This process involves paying additional fees and is quite tedious.
Unlike other states, Utah has no allowance for self-insurance. Normally, this option is available to people who own multiple vehicles on their name (like a taxi or rental service, for instance), and would require them to make a deposit at the DMV against a high amount and avoid purchasing an insurance policy from a company. However, purchasing an external policy is better because you let an expert handle the tricky matter of protecting you and your vehicle.
Choose Your State
Q:What are the minimum Utah auto insurance requirements and is this compulsory for motorcycles?
A:Automobile insurance is necessary in almost every state, including Utah. Drivers must show financial responsibility by getting their car or motorcycle insured. The minimum requirements for insurance are: $25,000 per person, $65,000 for bodily injury, and $15 for property damage. These insurance requirements also apply to motorcycle owners in Utah.
Q:Where can I find car insurance quotes Utah online?
A:There are many online insurance websites that allow individuals to compare, analyze, and search for car insurance quotes. You can take a look at our page and get more information about the current insurance rates in the state of Utah. It is important to remember that you must search thoroughly and weigh all your options before finalizing any insurance policy.