Auto Insurance Claims in Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania mandates drivers to fulfill its financial responsibility requirements through self-insurance or more commonly, through auto liability insurance. Vehicle insurance or auto insurance pays the claims resulting from traffic accidents in the forms of bodily injuries and property damages. All you have to do is to pay the premium.
The minimum liability requirements in Pennsylvania for vehicle owners include a physical injury limit of $15,000 per person, a total physical injury limit of $30,000 for more than one person and a property damage limit of $5000.
After you have purchased the relevant insurance policy, you need to submit a proof of it to PennDOT. This can be done by delivering your identification card of insurance or the insurance policy declaration page to them. You can also submit an insurance binder but you will have to submit one again after it expires. A letter or the Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan application signed by a representative of the insurance company that demonstrates your current coverage can also serve this purpose.
Auto insurance claims in Pennsylvania can be filed online or through telephone by calling a toll free number. You will be required to supply different information depending upon the insurance company. Generally you will be asked for your social security number, policy number, date and location of accident, and a description of the accident. In addition to this, you may also be asked about the insurance information of the other group involved as well as their license plate number, name and address. If the incident was reported to the police, you will also have to mention that as well as the police report number. Your damages will be evaluated by an insurance adjuster and you might even be contacted by the insurance company of the other party involved to verify the accident information. For some complicated cases, an attorney with a specialization in personal injury is required to expedite the process and assist you in the legalities.
You will be penalized if you fail to maintain financial responsibility or drive without a proof of insurance. A fine of $300 will be levied. Your driver’s license and registration can be suspended for three months and you will subsequently have to pay $50 for registration and driver’s license reinstatement each.