There were between 200 million and 240 million licensed drivers in the United States in 2006. The United States has one of the largest numbers of cars per 1,000 people in the world. This huge volume of traffic needs to be conducted in an orderly manner for drivers, passengers and pedestrians to be safe on the road. One way of making driving experience safe is by issuing drivers licenses to those who qualify and meet the requisitedriving standards. Since there is no central authority in America issuing driver’s licenses, states have made their own laws regarding issuance of driver’s licenses. Generally, a potential driver’s traffic rules knowledge is tested by making him/her take the written test. Once that test is satisfactorily passed, he/she is allowed to take the behind-the-wheel test, where his/her driving skills are tested on the road. Once that too is satisfactorily passed, a driver’s license may be issued.
Issuance of a driver’s license simply means that the driver is legally entitled to drive anywhere in the country, be it on a country road or a national highway.
Connecticut DMV Drivers License
In the state of Connecticut, driver’s license applicants 18 years of age and older are now required to obtain a learner’s permit. The following is required to obtain a learner’s permit:
- Take the 25-question knowledge test
- Complete Form R-229 (Application for Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit and/or Driver’s License)
- Take vision test
- Establish identity by providing 2 valid, original or certified copies of the U.S. Birth certificate, U.S. Passport, etc
- Social security (social security card which is not laminated will suffice)
- Connecticut residency (to establish that the applicant’s home is in Connecticut-2 different pieces of mail from two different sources will suffice)
An applicant is required to keep the permit for at least 3 months (90 days) before taking the behind-the-wheel skills test. The permit is valid for 2 years. The applicant essentially has 3 months to 2 years to practice his/her driving skills on the road. The applicant, however, needs to be supervised while practicing driving on the road by someone who is at least 20 years of age, holding a valid driver’s license for the past 4 years consecutively with no suspensions. The applicant further needs to complete the 8-hour Safe Driving Practices Course offered by a driving school, before taking the behind-the-wheel skills test. Once the applicant successfully completes the course he/she will be presented with Form CS-1 which must be submitted with the DMV office at the time of the road test.
Texas Department of Public Safety
Since Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is a generic name therefore in the state of Texas it is the Texas Department of Public Safety which fulfills the functions of DMV. In Texas, applicants under the age of 25 must successfully complete a driver education course before being eligible to apply for their first driver’s license. Applicants must fulfill the following requirements before applying for their first Texas driver’s license:
- Documents establishing the applicant’s Texas residency, legal status or U.S. citizenship, Social Security Number and identity must be established before the DMV office
- Completion of the driver’s license application
- Proof of liability insurance and Texas vehicle registration
- Pass the knowledge and behind-the-wheel skills test
Laws relating to teen drivers are different and more stringent. In addition to the abovementioned requirements, teen drivers qualify for legal driving only in phase-by-phase manner. This is done to give them enough time to practice safe driving skills on the road under supervision. Those under the age of 18 must comply with the requirements of Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program.
As mentioned above, different states have different laws regulating issuance of driver’s licenses. Therefore it is prudent to check with the local DMV office for your state’s driver’s license requirements.
Select a State:
Choose Your State
Q:I want to know how to get your driver's license. Are there any tests that I have to take as well?
A:Before you can get a driver's license issued to you, you need to get a learner's permit. For that you need to have valid documents such as your birth certificate and then go through the driver's manual of your state and pass a written test that typically has around 50 questions. After you have completed the required number of months of driving training, you have to pass the driving test as well as the vision test for getting a license.
Q:Do I have to take driving classes to get a driver license in my state?
A:Yes, diving education and training is important for all individual applying for licenses. This is one of the major requirements. There are many driving schools across the nation that provides certified classes and training sessions to new drivers. You can find out more about training and education by browsing through our site.