Driving License Los Angeles

The state of California has millions of drivers, including minors and adults. Los Angeles is the most populated city in the state with millions of licensed minor and adult drivers. While the state allows those who fulfill certain legal requirements to legally drive on the roads, it has different regulations for those who are at least 16 years of age and those who are at least 18 years of age.

A minor can legally obtain a driver license if:

  • He/she is at least 16 years of age
  • He/she holds a valid California instruction permit or a permit from another state for at least 6 months
  • He/she has proof of successfully finishing both driver training and driver education
  • He/she has proof of parent(s) or guardian(s) signature(s) on his/her instruction permit stating that the applicant has successfully completed 50 hours of supervised driving practice of which 10 hours were spent on driving at night
  • He/she has successfully passed the behind-the-wheel driving test

A minor can only obtain a provisional driver license though, which allows him/her to drive independently. Once a minor reaches the age of 18, his/her license automatically becomes a regular driver license.
An adult can legally obtain a driver license in Los Angeles if:

  • He/she is at least 18 years of age
  • He/she has made an appointment to take the behind-the-wheel driving test
  • He/she has passed the behind-the-wheel driving test
  • He/she has complied with all other driver license requirements

If an adult applicant of the California driver license already holds an out-of-state or out-of-country driver license then he/she must do the following:

  • Bring his/her valid driver license to the DMV office where the license will be invalidated
  • Comply with all the requirements of the California driving permit

Those applicants with a valid out-of-state driver license may not have to take the behind-the-wheel test. However, those with out-of-country licenses are required to take the behind-the-wheel test.
For more information on different classes of driver licenses, you may contact your local DMV office in Los Angeles.

Choose Your State

Q:What is the legal age to drive in Los Angeles while possessing alcohol?

A:In California, as the legal drinking age is 21, anyone caught driving while being under this age and having alcohol on their person or in the car can face severe repercussions. Not only can they lose their license for a year, they can also be required to pay a fine as steep as $1000 and even have their car taken away from them for 30 days.