California Driving Permit

California Drivers Permit
A driver’s permit is the first-step towards acquiring a driver’s license. A permit is needed to learn to drive on California’s roads. To this end, the state of California legally allows both minors and adults to drive with valid permits. While those with permits are legally allowed to drive, they are however, restricted to drive under certain conditions only.

Minors’ permit requirements are as following:

  • At least 15 ½ but less than 18 years of age
  • Application signed by their parent(s) or legal guardian(s). In case of joint custody, both must sign
  • Completed and properly signed the Driver License or Identification Card Application (DL 44) form
  • Pass road signs and traffic laws test

If an applicant is between 15 ½- 17 ½ years of age then he/she will need to establish the following to obtain a permit:

  • Completed driver education, or
  • Enrolled and participating in an approved driver training program

If an applicant is at least 17 ½ years of age then he/she can obtain a permit without completing a driving education course.
 
Adults’ permit requirements
Applicants who are at least 18 years of age, have passed the required tests and meet the application requirements may be issued a California instruction permit. 

A driver with a permit must be accompanied (without exception) by someone who is at least 18 years of age, with valid California license, in order to practice safe driving skills on the roads. The accompanying or senior driver must be seated close enough so that in case of an emergency he/she can take control of the car.

Permits are not only issued to car drivers but motorcycle drivers as well. For an applicant to obtain a motorcycle permit, the following must be fulfilled:

  • Pass road signs and traffic laws test
  • Complete and properly signed application
  • At least 18 years of age

The motorcycle permit holder must however abide by the following restrictions:

  • Not driving on the freeway
  • No Passengers
  • No riding after daylight hours

 

Choose Your State

Q:Can you tell me briefly about driving permit rules in California?

A:In the state of California, individuals with driving permits are first required to complete a driver's education course. These permits are given to drivers between the age of 15 and 17. At all times, permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver/guardian while on the road. These are just a few of the basic rules, find out more on our pages.