Driving Permit Los Angeles

Drivers permit in Los Angeles

A driver license and permit are two different things. The former allows a person to drive independently and without supervision, while the latter restricts a driver from driving on his/her own. The state of California’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues driver permits to both minors and adults. However, different regulations apply to minors and adults.

The DMV may issue a driver permit to anyone with the following qualifications:

  • At least 15 ½ years of age but less than 18 years of age
  • Pass road signs and traffic laws test
  • Completed a Driver License Application (DL 44) form signed by the applicant’s parent(s) or guardian(s)

If the applicant is between 15 ½- 17 ½ years of age then he/she must provide one of the following to the DMV to obtain a driver permit (not applicable to those who are at least 17 ½ years of age):

  • Certificate of Completion of Driver Education
  • Enrolled and participating in an approved integrated driver training/education program

While an applicant can obtain a permit at the age of 15 ½, the permit will not be valid until the driver has reached the age of 17 ½ or begun supervised behind-the-wheel driver training.
The DMV also issues permits to those who are 18 years of age. When on the road, they must be accompanied by 18 years of age or older drivers with valid California driver license. The applicants must be successfully able to fulfill the following:

  • Pass the required tests
  • Meet application requirements

The state also issues permits to motorcycle drivers. They must meet the following requirements:

  • Pass road signs and traffic laws test
  • Complete the application requirements
  • Be at least 18 years of age

A motorcycle permit holder cannot do the following until he/she obtains a driver license:

  • Ride on the freeway
  • Ride at the night time
  • Carry passengers

For more information on how to obtain your driver permit in Los Angeles, you can visit the local DMV office, check the DMV’s website, or call the DMV.

Choose Your State