Who can apply for a driving permit in Texas?
In Texas, the driver permit or instruction permit is called a learner license. Any person 15 years of age or older can obtain a permit if he/she fulfills all other legal requirements. It is a vertical license with a photograph of the permit holder. It legally allows the permit holder to practice driving skills under supervision on the state’s roads. The permit holder must be accompanied by a driver who holds a valid driver license, is at least 21 years of age, and has a driving experience of at least a year. The supervising driver plays a very important role in the education of the permit holder and therefore he/she must be seated close enough to the driver so that he/she can take over in case of an emergency. Furthermore, he/she must not be:
- Texting or making a telephone call;
- Intoxicated; or
- Involved in any activity which stops him/her from properly supervising the driver.
How to apply for a driving permit in Texas?
Applicants applying for a Texas driver permit who are under 18 years of age must provide the following evidence:
- That he/she holds a high school diploma or its equivalent;
- That prior to the date of making the application, the applicant was a student enrolled in a public, private or home school;
- That the applicant attended the school for at least 80 days in the spring or fall semesters; or
- That the applicant has been enrolled in the school for at least 45 days and is presently enrolled in a program to pass the high school equivalency exam.
There are various rules that decide the validity of the certificate issued by a school. Most importantly, the certificate should not be issued for more than 30 days before the date of the application during the school year or more than 90 days before the date of the application during the summer.
A Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form (VOE) must also be submitted to the driver license office in order to obtain a Texas driver permit. The form is available from schools and must be completed and signed by school officials.
Choose Your State
Q:I have recently gotten behind the wheel of my very first car and so was wondering what the Texas 2013 driving laws for learners permits were?
A:The Texas Department of Public Safety (TDPS) enforces a number of restrictions and limitations on drivers holding learner's permits. A learner's permit holder must be accompanied by a valid license holder who is 21 years of age or older at all times. Additionally, he or she must be seated in front on the passenger's seat. Check out more links on our site for further details.