Being able to drive from point A to point B is one of those things we take for granted. However, it bears repeating that driving is a privilege and not a right. By the same token, it is a privilege that cannot, under law, be denied to those law abiding individuals who are demonstrably eligible to drive.
To avail this privilege, you need to demonstrate adequately, to the satisfaction of the authorities, that you are able to operate and navigate the vehicle that you propose to drive effectively. Therefore a driver’s test is necessary to get a valid driver’s license. Since there is no central authority in the United States which issues driver's licenses, therefore, states under their own traffic laws, issue driver's licenses to those who come up to their standards of safe driving. States may have different laws regarding drivers test but they all have the same purpose; to issue a license to the one who has passed the written as well as behind-the-wheel test.
In New Jersey, the Motor Vehicles Commission (MVC) has prescribed written and physical driver’s tests that are the pre-requisites for a driver’s license. There are also prescribed drivers’ education programs for those under the age of 18 and usually these drivers’ education programs are pre-requisites to getting a shot at the license.
The first step in any driver’s test is to take the MVC written test. At the MVC office you will have to do the following:
- Complete the requisite forms
- Provide thumb impression.
- Provide your social security number.
- Pay the prescribed application fee.
- Pass the prescribed eye sight test.
6 point ID verification
- A primary ID such as the US Passport is worth 4 points
- A US High School ID is worth 2 points.
Once the paper work is done and over with:
At this point you will be required to take a 50 questions test and the pass score is 40/50. This test qualifies you for a learner’s permit. You may be issued a permit at age of 16 year. An examination permit may be issued at age 17 after the candidate passes his or her initial exam. The examination permit is valid for two years. At all times you have to have an adult present, with a valid driver’s license, in the car and in a position to take over the vehicle if something goes wrong. Driving without an adult on a provisional permit is not allowed.
The following requirements are mandatory for being able to drive in the state of New Jersey:
- 16 years of age.
- Completion of drivers’ education.
- Six hours of professional driver training.
Remember the person taking your driver’s test will ask you for the insurance information of the vehicle you will be driving; so have it handy.
Upon passing the driver’s test, you will generally get an interim license which will be valid for 60 days. By the end of the 60 days you should receive a regular driver’s license. However, drivers under 18 are given provisional drivers license.
Driving is a privilege and not a matter of right. It is important to always keep your driver’s license current and in order. License and registration are the two most important things that will be required as proof that you are actually eligible to drive. It is regulation of drivers that ensures road safety.
Select a State:
Choose Your State
Q:Are practice DMV tests of any use? How many do I have to do so at pass the actual test?
A:Yes, doing practice DMV tests are a big help when trying to pace yourself and developing a familiarity with the kind of questions that can appear in the actual test. So do as many as you can. In order to develop a grasp over the material, get your hands on a copy of the driver's manual that is particular to your state.