North Carolina Vehicle Registration Renewal

Having valid vehicle registration is necessary if you wish to park on the street or legally drive within any state in the US. As a result, you must renew it regularly in order to retain your right to drive. In the state of North Carolina, vehicle registration renewal is a process that must be completed annually, which is the validity of your registration. The month you must renew in depends on the month that you were issued your first registration card.

If you are living in the state of North Carolina, vehicle registration renewal can be completed in one of three ways; in person, via mail, or online. Prior to the expiration date of your original registration, you will be sent a reminder notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles alerting you of the deadline. If you do not receive a notice, you can contact the DMV on your own to request one. While the renewal reminder is important, it is not actually needed to renew your registration in any way. Not getting a reminder also does not mean that you are exempt from renewing your vehicle’s registration.

In order to renew your registration, you will need certain documentation, and your vehicle must also have passed an official emissions inspection test within 90 days of your date of renewal. If you want to complete the North Carolina vehicle registration renewal process online, you will need to provide your insurance policy number, license plate number, last 5 digits of your title number, and provide the same address as the one on file. After processing your fees via credit card, you will need to allow 7 business days for your application to be processed and the new material will be delivered to your doorstep.

If you are completing the renewal process in person or via mail, you will have to supply the same documents along with the appropriate payment. In the case of renewal by mail, you will also have to include payment for return postage. Should you miss the deadline to renew, the state of North Carolina offers a 15 day grace period for you to complete the process without any fines. Further delay will result in penalties.


Choose Your State