California Vehicle Title Transfer
Compare Car Insurance Rates:Start Saving
California car registration
There are millions of vehicles in California. To keep record of who owns these vehicles, the state has made registration laws which require that those driving in California follow them in letter and spirit.
California car title transfer
In the state of California whenever there is a change in the ownership of a vehicle, it is considered as a transfer. There following are some of the examples of change of ownership or transfer:
- Satisfaction of lien i.e. a lender’s claim for example
- Adding or deleting the name of an owner
- Sale or gift
Transfer of ownership of a vehicle must be notified to the DMV by filing a Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability (NRL) form within 5 days. The form can be obtained from the DMV by calling at 1-800-777-0133. The form can also be filed and submitted online. The seller would need the following to successfully file a Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability (NRL) form online:
- New owner’s name and address
- Last five digits of the vehicle identification number (VIN)
- License plate number
California car title transfer can also be done by completing and mailing the form to:
Department of Motor vehicles
P.O. Box 942859
Sacramento, CA 94259-0001
The seller must follow the abovementioned legal obligation as it would absolve him/her of criminal or civil liability arising out of traffic accidents, abandonment or parking related offences after the transfer date. This however is not the complete transfer of ownership. That would happen only when the DMV has received a completed application for transfer of ownership and payment of fees from the new owner.
If the car’s title is transferred between family members including gift transfers (family comprises of spouse, child, sibling, domestic partner, parent, grandchild, grandparent, etc) the transfer of ownership must be notified to the DMV within 10 days from the date of possession. The following documents will have to be submitted:
- Statement of Use Tax Exemption (REG 256)
- For cars less than 10 years old, an odometer mileage certification will be required
- Title of the car (pink slip) with previous owner’s signature
Choose Your State
Q:According to California dmv title change codes, how many days do I have to get the title transferred after purchasing a new car?
A:Once you have finalized a deal and paid the sale amount, you must get the title transferred to you within 10 days. You and the seller of the car must fill out a title transfer form and submit it to the local DMV office. Along with this form, you will also have to submit a few other documents and pay a title transfer fee of around $15.
Q:I have inherited a car from a family member in New York, how can I transfer vehicle to legal ownership in California dmv?
A:If you are living in California and have inherited a car from another state, you must get the title of ownership transferred to you. This process is fairly simple. You will have to fill out a title transfer form and submit it the DMV office in your locality. There is a title transfer fee that must also be paid.
Q:As I was searching for California dmv vehicle transfer add name, I came across a Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability form. Can you tell me what this is?
A:When transferring a vehicle to another person in CA, one must notify the department of motor vehicles in this state. Apart from a transfer of ownership form, a Notice of Transfer and Release of Liability form must also be filled out. This form will release the seller of the vehicle from all civil liability arising out of any traffic/crime offenses after the sale/transfer of the car.
Q:What needs to be done to transfer a car to a family in CA?
A:The legal definition of transfer is change of ownership. Whether one purchases a car or simply gives it to a family member, a title transfer is necessary. However, the process varies slightly in the case of transferring title to a family. In such a case, a smog certificate will not be required. Apart from that, the usually title transfer forms must still be filled out and the fee will also have to be paid.