Even though different states in the US have different rules on traffic laws and road safety, all states have a strong stance against driving under the influence (DUI). Michigan DUI laws are no exception. Drunk driving is defined as having a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher, and you will be prosecuted if you are found to have exceeded this limit.
These laws are important because almost a third of all car accidents in Michigan are a result of drunk or impaired driving. Without strict penalties to deter drinking and driving, the number of accidents will only increase.
Even individuals who violate Michigan DUI laws for the first time face strict penalties. Based on your blood alcohol levels, you may face a penalty up to $700 in fines, 180 days in jail and 360 hours of community service. Refusing to get your blood alcohol level tested via a breathalyzer may result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license for a year. A complete set of Michigan DUI laws are contained within the driver’s manual issued by the Secretary of State’s office. It is important to be thoroughly aware of these laws, since you can be quizzed on them during your driver’s test as well.
You can be charged with Operating while Visibly Impaired or Operating While Intoxicated, both of which carry a maximum penalty of up to year of consecutive jail time. Repeat offences may even result in a permanent bar on your driving rights.
Driving is a privilege that you must earn the right to use. It requires you to demonstrate responsibility and maturity while operating a vehicle. Drinking severely impairs your judgment and your reaction time, impacting your ability to operate any machinery, let alone a car. As a result, you should adopt better strategies to avoid any untoward incidents as a result of drunk driving. For instance, volunteer to be a designated driver if you are traveling with a group of friends, or appoint a designated driver among yourselves. You could also call for a cab or private transport service to safely get you home.