Pennsylvania Dui


Pennsylvania DUI Law

The state of Pennsylvania follows a strict DUI code. In Fall 2013, the DUI law was changed and made stricter in Pennsylvania. The new Pennsylvania DUI law was, however, enacted with the intention of treating first-time DUI offenders rather than punishing them or suspending their driving privileges. The state lowered the legal limit of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) from .10 to .08. Ever since 2003, Pennsylvania has followed a tiered approach toward DUI enforcement and treatment. Changes were also made regarding fines, terms and suspension, penalties and other requirements. 
The state has three levels of DUI, depending on the amount of alcohol in a person’s blood at the time of arrest:


  • General impairment (.08 to .099% BAC)
  • High BAC (.10 to .159% BAC)
  • Highest BAC (.16% and higher)

A driver with no prior DUI offence, who has been arrested with BAC level between .08 to .099%, may be penalized as following:

  • Up to 6 months probation
  • Ungraded misdemeanor
  • $300 fine
  • Treatment when ordered
  • Alcohol highway safety school

A driver with 1 prior DUI offence, and who is found driving with a BAC level between .08 to .099%, can be penalized as following:

  • 5 days to 6 months jail time
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 1 year ignition interlock
  • Treatment when ordered
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • A fine of $300 to $2,500
  • Ungraded misdemeanor

A driver with no prior DUI offences and convicted of driving with BAC level between .10 and.159% may be penalized with:

  • A fine of $500 to $5,000
  • 48 hours to 6 months in prison
  • Suspension of license for 12 months
  • Treatment when ordered
  • Alcohol highway safety school
  • Ungraded misdemeanor

The penalties become more severe as the convicted driver’s BAC level becomes higher or when a person has two or more prior DUI offences. In extreme cases, the convicted driver may lose his/her driving privileges for 18 months and jailed for as long as 5 years.

Choose Your State

Q:Can you give me some information about penndot license requirements for dui offenders?

A:For first time DUI offenders, there is a general penalty of fine and probation. Second time offenders may face time in prison and can have their licenses suspended. The seriousness of the offense will basically depend upon the BAC level and damage caused (if any). For more information, browse through our pages.