New Jersey Traffic Laws

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission provides very important services to the motorists of the state. One of the many services it provides for free is information on updated New Jersey traffic laws. These laws are accessible online and may also be available in the form of The New Jersey Driver Manual from the Commission's office. It is advised that motorists in New Jersey periodically check the Commission's website as the latest motor vehicle laws are updated there.

The New Jersey Driver Manual contains invaluable information for those who are aspiring drivers, teenage drivers, their parents, seasoned drivers, etc. The manual has the following chapters:
 

  • The New Jersey Driver License System
  • New Jersey Driver Testing
  • Driver Responsibility
  • Safe Driving Rules & Regulations
  • Defensive Driving
  • Drinking, Drugs & Health
  • Driver Privileges & Penalties
  • Sharing the Road with Others
  • Vehicle Information
  • Motorcycle Manual

The Manual further contains appendices on Driver Safety and MVC Locations.

For example, if you are looking for information on the use of cellular telephones, skip to Chapter 4: Safe Driving Rules & Regulations. Under Cellular Telephones you can get the requisite information on the use of cellular phones while driving a motor vehicle on the state's public roads or highways.

If you are looking for the state's DUI laws, you can skip to Chapter 6: Drinking, Drugs & Health which is divided into the following topics:

  • Effects of Alcohol
  • How Much is Too Much?
  • Drinking and Driving
  • Good Hosts and the Drinking Driver
  • Designated Drivers
  • Drugs and Driving
  • Healthy Driving

 
For the state's DUI laws, skip to "How Much is Too Much?" In New Jersey it is illegal for a driver of 21 years of age or older to have BAC level of .08 percent or higher and drive. Those who are under the age of 21 years of age, it is illegal to drive while having a BAC level of .01 percent or higher. The manual clearly states that those in violation of the state's DUI laws will face severe penalties, in addition to other penalties.

Choose Your State