Texas Traffic Laws
Compare Car Insurance Rates:Start Saving
Texas is the second largest state in the US after Alaska and though it may not be the most populous, it has the most extensive road network. Effective traffic management in Texas is made possible through a comprehensive set of Texas traffic laws that cover everything from registration of vehicles and licenses of their drivers to motor vehicle safety and driving regulations.
The Texas Department of Transportation or TxDOT is the primary government body that oversees the vast intertwining roads that span the length and width of this state. Some of the various types of traffic laws in Texas that govern driving and operation of commuter, commercial and transport vehicles are as follows:
Seat Belt Usage
The traffic management laws of Texas are very particular regarding the use of seat belts while driving a vehicle and have become increasingly stringent over the years. Previously, you were only required to wear a seatbelt if you were sitting in the driver’s or the front passenger’s seat or if you were under 16 and sitting in the back seat. However, since 2009, each passenger in the car is required to be wearing a seat belt while on the road, or else a fine of around $25 is applicable.
Safety Seat for Child Passenger
The laws regarding the safety of child passengers inside a vehicle have also changed since August 2009. Previously, children only under the age of 5 were required to use a safety seat. Now, all children up to the age of eight have to be buckled up in a child passenger safety seat. However, this rule does not apply if a child is taller than 4 feet and 9 inches. Where first time offenses require you to pay a fine of $ 25, a repeated violation can increase the fine up to $200.
Law for Carrying Child Passenger on a Motorbike
It is illegal in Texas for having a child passenger younger than five years on a motorcycle. For this purpose, a sidecar is required in order to ensure the safety of the child.
Acceptable Levels of Alcohol Concentration While Driving
The permitted limit of alcohol concentration according to the traffic laws in Texas while driving a vehicle is 0.08 grams per 210 liters of breath/100 ml of blood.
Choose Your State
Q:I am a new resident in Texas. Can you explain the applicable Texas department driving laws for obtaining a license?
A:New residents must apply for a driving license within ninety days of establishing residency in Texas. After that you cannot drive with your out-of-state license even if it is valid. You will have to apply in person for the Texas license at any driver license office and you must surrender the out-of-state license to the Department of Public Safety.
Q:Can you give me some information about Texas traffic law for over length vehicles?
A:The transportation code of Texas 621.203 defines the maximum length of vehicles that can be allowed on public roads and highways. No vehicle apart from a truck-tractor longer than 45 feet is allowed on roads. However, semi-trailers and tractors have a maximum limit of 59 feet. For more inf0ormation about this, browse through our website.
Q:What are the Texas traffic laws 2013 regarding wearing seatbelts?
A:The new Texas traffic laws that were enforced in 2009 are still in effect in 2013. These clearly state that other than the driver and the passengers sitting in the front seat having had to wear seat belts even before, those that are seated in the backseats are also required to wear them. In the instance of a violation, a fine of $25 dollars would be imposed. Browse through more sections on our site for more details.
Q:As I was reading about Texas laws for no thru traffic laws, I found out that I canbe fined for this. How?
A:A no thru traffic sign basically means that unless someone has business on a certain street, he or she can be fined or given a ticket for passing through that neighborhood or street. However, no thru signs have no severe legal penalty. If you want to know more about such traffic signs and what penalty they hold for being violated, take a look at our page.