Massachusetts Traffic Tickets

Massachusetts Traffic Tickets

Massachusetts being one of the most populous states is home to millions of registered vehicles. There are hundreds and thousands of licensed drivers in Massachusetts owning and driving various types of vehicles. The state allows only those to legally drive who possess a valid driver’s license. Driving is a privilege in Massachusetts and not a right. A driver is responsible for his/her actions on the road. Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) keeps record of every driver’s history which is called driving record. If a driver is cited for a traffic rules violation, he/she is given a traffic ticket which represents a certain number. More serious the violation, the higher the number associated with it. Massachusetts traffic tickets may require drivers to pay fine, lose their driving privileges, appear in court, or go to jail.

A driver can have his/her driving privileges suspended or revoked for a specific period of time under the following circumstances:

  • Civil violations
  • Criminal violations
  • A road accident where the driver is found to be more than 50 percent at fault

Civil violations are commonly in the form of speeding or not obeying traffic signals. A ticket given for civil violations can usually be settled by paying the stipulated fine. Or the driver may ask for a hearing so that he/she could dispute the ticket by arguing that the police officer wrongly cited him/her for violation. A driver has 20 days to ask for a hearing. If the driver is interested in a court’s hearing, he/she must pay $25 filing fee to the RMV.

Speeding tickets are also civil in nature but may carry hefty fines. For example, the minimum that a driver may incur for driving over the speed limit is $100. A driver may lose his/her driver’s license for 30 days if found guilty for three speeding violations in a 12-month period.

Criminal violations of traffic laws are serious offences carrying severe penalties including jail term, etc. Most common criminal violations are leaving the scene of an accident, driving under the influence (DUI) and driving with a suspended license.

Choose Your State