Illinois Auto Insurance Requirement
To be able to drive a car in Illinois or anywhere else in the United States, you need to not only have a drivers license, but valid car insurance as well. In case you ever get caught without any of these documentations in less than perfect order, you could have your driver’s license suspended, pay a hefty penalty or worse do some jail time in certain scenarios. It is therefore important to be careful and always keep your insurance information updated at all times. In fact in the state of Illinois if you get into an accident without having the minimum insurance coverage, prepare to get sued by the other driver for injuries and damages.
So here is a brief introduction into Illinois auto insurance requirement, know them and be prepared.
Mandatory Coverage in Illinois
Under Illinois law, the minimum insurance coverage needs to include the following:
- Liability for Bodily Harm: Minimum coverage: $20,000 per person and up to $40,000 for an accident. This helps pay for injury in case the accident was your fault.
- Liability for Property Damage: Minimum coverage: $1500. This pays for repairs or any other damage to the other car in case the accident was your fault.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: Minimum coverage: $20,000 per person. This covers the cost of paying your own and the other party’s injuries in case the accident was your fault.
- $40,000 - injury or death of more than one person in an accident
Well now you know the minimum insurance requirements in the state of Illinois, but you might want to consider more extensive coverage for your car and yourself. Among the other options available for driver’s insurance coverage in the state of Illinois are: Comprehensive coverage for non-collision damage, collision coverage which covers the cost of repairing your own car in any kind of car accident scenario.
Remember that if you are caught due to a traffic violation or accident and are unable to provide evidence of insurance, your license plates will get suspended and you stand to pay fines as high as: minimum $500 fine for driving uninsured.
Choose Your State
Q:Are there any requirements to purchase auto in IL?
A:Yes there are requirements to purchase an auto in IL. You must get a minimum coverage of $20,000 per person or $40,000 for accidents. The Department of Motor Vehicles in Illinois requires all vehicle owners to make sure they get their cars insured and carry an insurance certificate or proof at all times when driving.