License Plates

License plates, decals, and placards help identify vehicle owners, show proof of registration, grant driving and parking privileges, and more.

Valid license plates are required on passenger vehicles, commercial motor vehicles, motorcycles, permanent trailers, trailer coaches, and park trailers.

Ensuring Your Plates are Valid

You need to renew your vehicle registration every year. After you renew your registration, we’ll send you new registration stickers (tabs) for the year. Affix the stickers (tabs) to your license plates to ensure they’re valid.

Generally, license plates remain with the vehicle they were issued to. Certain types of plates (personalized environmental, special recognition, or special interest) can be reassigned to another vehicle upon request by the owner and payment of appropriate fees.

Types of License Plates

There are a variety of license plates to support causes (environment, arts, education, breast cancer awareness, etc.), provide special recognition, and identify special status, among other things. Here are the different types of license plates:

Standard license plates.
Special interest license plates (arts, kids, environment, etc.).
Special license plates (recognition, historical, occupational, legislative, etc.).
Decals and placards (bicycles, disabled person parking, etc.).

License Plate Sizes

Automobile, commercial, and trailer license plates are 12? x 6?.
Motorcycle license plates 7? x 4? (plates issued prior to July 1, 1970, are 8? x 5?).
Identification plates issued to vehicles not bearing automobile, commercial, trailer, or motorcycle plates are 7? x 4? (plates issued prior to January 1, 1981 are 8? x 5?).

Search DMV Locations

Select a state

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District Of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming