Buying New Car in North Carolina
The state of North Carolina has definite law rules pertaining to the purchase of new cars. So residents who are buying new car in North Carolina must abide by the laws to title and register their cars.
The first thing you should bear in mind is that you have only thirty days to register your car and this registration has to be done in person and you must take along the driver’s license as well. You can visit a nearby Vehicle Registration Office along with the necessary paperwork. Make sure that you have paid all the taxes applicable to your car before you go for registration, including the Highway Use Tax. You will also have to fill out the Title Application form. The car title must be notarized. Manufacturer’s certificate of Origin will act as the official transfer document for new cars. You will also be required to have a safety and emissions inspection.
Buyers must also met the minimum liability insurance requirements and take along a proof of liability insurance. In North Carolina, the requirements consist of a bodily injury limit of $30,000 per person, $60,000 in bodily injury limit if the accident affects more than one person and $25000 dollars of property damage coverage.
A Bill of Sale and Damage Disclosure Statement is also needed at this point. You will then have to submit various fees including the license plate fee of twenty eight dollars. You may have to pay more if you are ordering a specialized plate. In addition to this you will have to pay $40 for a Certificate of Title or $75 if you want an instant title. Payments are to be made only in the forms of cash, checks or money order.
When the DMV receives your completed application, it will issue the following:
- Registration card;
- Certificate of title;
- Registration plate or License Plate showing a unique number assigned to your car;
- Validation stickers.
You can also get a tax deduction based on the market value of the car. The registration card must be signed by the car owner and kept in car. It has to be shown whenever a law enforcement officer demands it.