Georgia Auto Insurance Requirements
The state of Georgia requires all drivers to meet the minimum limits of automobile liability insurance before they can legally drive a car on public roads and highways. Georgia auto insurance requirements set down bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per individual with a maximum of $50,000 allotted for injuries to more than one person in a single accident. The property damage liability coverage amounts to $25,000 per incident. By maintaining financial responsibility, you can ensure that you have the finances available to cover some of the financial losses inflicted during an accident.
Insurance companies often base your premium on your Personal Credit History. This usually means that drivers who have maintained a consistently clean driving record and a good credit history will have to pay lower premiums. Drivers are advised to obtain auto insurance from companies approved by the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner.
Once you purchase a policy, your company is responsible for electronically submitting the policy information to statewide databases. This in turns acts as a proof of your financial responsibility. In addition to this electronic record, the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) explains that drivers should keep some other form of proof like an insurance card with them too. Insurance binder, bill of sale and declaration page are all valid proofs of insurance but only for thirty days from the date of issuance. You can also opt for self insurance and obtain a Certificate of Self-Insurance from the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner by fulfilling the necessary requirements.
If there is a lapse of ten or more days in your insurance coverage, you will be fined $25. Registration suspension can last up to six months depending upon the frequency of previous insurance violations. If you are a first time offender, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $60. If you commit the offense again, the cost will increase and by the third time, you will have to pay $160 in reinstatement fee. Misdemeanor charges may also be leveled against you, if you are caught driving with a suspended registration.