Virginia Auto Insurance Requirements
Every state’s department of motor vehicles has different laws and regulations regarding the insurance of auto mobiles. Auto mobile insurance is the insurance purchased for all the vehicles on the road; cars, trucks, motorbikes, bicycles etc. It is your financial security against any damage to your vehicle. In case of theft, or loss due to any natural disaster or physical damage in any accident, your auto insurance helps you bear the financial loss. They pay for the damage up to a certain extent which differs depending on the kind of package you’ve bought. The minimum coverage that it provides is (Auto insurance in Virginia),
Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Property Damage: $20,000 per accident with a $200 deductible for hit-and-run accidents.
Under Virginia auto insurance requirements, to obtain a license plate or registration you are required to certify that the vehicle in question is covered by the minimum insurance requirement. These also apply to antique vehicles. If you choose not to insure your car then you are required to pay $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee (UMV) which goes to the department of motor vehicles (DMV). This does not provide you insurance but allows you to legally drive an uninsured vehicle.
You can submit your documents for the insurance of your vehicle. This can be done online or by a visit to your nearest DMV office in person. Through a program called Insurance verification program, DMV can check the vehicle description and liability information relayed by the insurance carriers.
Like any other state, State of Virginia takes the enforcement of motor vehicle laws very seriously. They have strict penalties if any offence is committed by its citizens so one must follow through the whole process. In case DMV finds out that you drive a car with expired insurance or no insurance at all, or in case of no insurance you have not paid any UMV fee, your driving and vehicle registration privileges would be suspended. In order to be reinstated, you will be required to pay a $500 statutory fee, file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with DMV for three years, and pay a reinstatement fee, if applicable or required.