Car Insurance in Arkansas
Before you can legally drive a car within the state of Arkansas, you must provide proof of financial responsibility. This shows that you have the finances to protect yourself and other motorists in the event of an accident, and indicates that you are a responsible driver. If you drive in Arkansas, a car insurance policy is one way of maintaining this financial obligation. Driving without insurance is a serious offense, and you risk having your license and vehicle registration suspended if you are stopped by a police officer.
The state of Arkansas has determined a minimum amount of coverage that you must possess in order to legally drive your car. Proof of insurance must be submitted to the Office of Motor Vehicles. While the minimum amount of car insurance allows you to clear the legal requirements of the state, the amount may not be enough to sufficiently protect your assets. Most insurance agencies will recommend you to choose a policy which provides additional coverage; although, this will come with a higher premium as well. If cost-cutting is your goal, you could simply choose the minimum coverage required by the state. Otherwise, paying a little extra can help save you the stress of footing huge medical bills and car repair costs out of your own pocket.
The minimum coverage you must carry is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 to cover property damage
If you understand car insurance well, you can determine whether this amount is enough for you before purchasing such a policy. Otherwise, you should spend some time working with an Arkansas car insurance agency to develop a customized policy for you. The process may take some time, but the payoff comes in the form of added security for you and your loved ones.
You are legally required to provide a proof of car insurance when you title and register your vehicle, but this is not where it ends. You must also carry your car insurance documents on you at all times, so that your vehicle registration is not suspended incorrectly. To avoid the hassle of paying reinstatement fees and breaking the law, get car insurance today.
What are the Arkansas car insurance requirements for insurance verification?
In order to maintain the liability insurance cover as mandated by the Arkansas state law, car owners have to participate in the insurance verification program. In order to make this system work, all companies that issue auto insurance policies have to have the correct information that is required for complying with the Arkansas Insurance Verification and Notification Network.
What are the various car insurance quotes Arkansas?
There are three different kinds of insurance quotes for cars in Arkansas. These are classified under the category of liability coverage. The rate is $25,000 for covering bodily harm done to a second party as well as for injury or damage caused to the property of someone else in an accident. The amount of $50,000 is required for covering the injuries caused to all persons other than you yourself.