Car Insurance in Kentucky
Vehicle owners in Kentucky can legally operate a car in the state boundaries if it is registered and insured. As the number of car owners are steadily increasing, with a higher number of young drivers, more stress is laid upon car insurance as a safety measure. The motor vehicle department in Kentucky is the only legal body in the state that registers all motor vehicles and licenses all drivers. The core aim of this department is to make sure that public safety comes first through making roads a safer place to travel upon. Accidents are the number one cause of death; to help bring this number down, the department has toughened the licensing requirements and car insurance requirements.
How to get your car insured in Kentucky
You can easily get your car insured in this state through any notable car insurance company. When purchasing a vehicle here, usually the car will come with an insurance coverage policy. You can change this policy according to your needs. There are various different types of car insurance policies one can opt for. One of the most common is liability coverage. With liability insurance, damage caused to any third party of fully covered. But this policy does not financially cover one’s own damage caused due to any accident or theft. On the other hand, no-fault coverage policy pays up to $10,000 as compensation to bodily and vehicle harm, regardless of who is at fault.
In the state of Kentucky, the motor vehicle department has made it mandatory for all drivers to electronically report personal lines of vehicle insurance. This Kentucky car insurance system has been designed by Department of Insurance and the Motor Vehicle Department. Although one’s proof of financial responsibility is digitally on record, drivers are still recommended to carry insurance proof on them at all times when driving.
If one fails to provide proof of insurance, or is driving an uninsured vehicle, legal action can be taken by law enforcement officers. Usually the penalties are in form of a hefty fine or a license suspension. Insurance is a great way to avoid monetary loss in case of an accident.
What are the minimum Kentucky car insurance requirements?
The minimum car insurance requirements for drivers in Kentucky are: $25,000 bodily insurance, $10,000 for property damage, and $50,000 bodily injury for more than one person per accident. Drivers in this state can also purchase PIP insurance which covers all kinds of lost wages, medical expenses, and more. This insurance policy does not consider the person at fault.
As I was reading about car insurance quotes Kentucky, I came across the average premium rates paid by drivers in this state. Can you tell me more about this?
Kentucky drivers pay an average of $2000-$3000 insurance premium. This state is listed among the top states with the highest insurance average. There are many insurance companies that offer discounted car insurance programs. Credit history, driving record etc pay a huge role in determining the average a person pays for insurance.