Car Insurance in Louisiana
Under Louisiana law, all registered vehicles are required to maintain liability insurance. Furthermore, you will be asked to furnish acceptable proof of insurance at the time of registration. This can be in the form of identification card issued by the insurance company, a copy of the insurance policy, or insurance policy’s declaration page. Alternatively, you can provide a written statement that provides all the vehicle information on the letterhead of the insurance company that is signed by your insurance agent.
Louisiana car insurance policies should meet the following minimum amounts of liability coverage as mandated by the state laws:
- Physical injury limit of $15,000 per person
- Physical injury limit of $30,000 for more than one individual per accident
- Property damage limit of $25,000
It should be kept in mind that these are the minimum requirements. In order to provide more security, it is advisable to inquire about additional coverage from your insurance company. Every time you purchase liability insurance or cancel one, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles is notified by your agency. All drivers are obligated to provide a proof of insurance whenever asked by a law enforcement officer. If you fail to furnish proper proof, the penalties can include issuance of a traffic ticket, confiscation of license plates, and vehicle impoundment. You will be given three days to show a proof of insurance at the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles listed on the back of the ticket to get your plates back.
Insurance cancellation will cause a flag to appear on your driving record. You will not be able to renew license plates or your driver’s license until the flag is removed. To remove the flag, you must show proof of new insurance that is operative from or before the cancellation date. If the vehicle was sold, salvaged, totaled, traded, junked, or repossessed, you should provide a proof of it within ten days of the cancellation date. You will have to pay reinstatement fees if you miss this deadline of ten days.
When you decide to terminate the liability insurance on your car, turn in the license plates at any OMV within ten days of the cancellation notice. In addition to this, you will have to submit a Statement of Non-Use to the OMV.
I would like to know about the Louisiana car insurance requirements?
In Louisiana, drivers must pay for insurance, whether they are commercial drivers or private drivers. The insurance requirements are: $15,000 per person in one accident, $25,000 property damage, and $30,000 for bodily injury and death. All drivers must keep a proof of their insurance when driving. Insurance helps reduce the financial loss that may come in the event of an accident.
Is it possible to get car insurance quotes Louisiana online?
You can get insurance quotes online conveniently. You must provide certain details about your residency, city, car, and credit history. There are a number of insurance plans that may suit your financial situation. If you have a great driving record, you may also qualify for a certain discount. Browse through our page for more information.