Car Insurance in Massachusetts
Massachusetts Car Insurance
Regardless of the state you drive in, having car insurance is essential to be authorized to operate your vehicle. Each state in the US has formed independent laws regarding traffic, and the amount of insurance they require you to carry is also different. Massachusetts car insurance is specific to all vehicles registered to the state. Insurance is necessary to prove that you have the finances to protect yourself, your loved ones, and other motorists in the event of an accident.
Massachusetts car insurance amounts have been determined by the state legislature and require you to carry coverage for yourself and your property, as well as the other motorists involved in the accident. These amounts are:
- A minimum of $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for bodily injury to others
- Up to $8,000 to you, passengers, pedestrians, or anyone you allow to operate your vehicle for personal injury protection.
- A minimum of $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for bodily injury caused by an uninsured auto
- A minimum of $5,000 for property damage to someone else’s property.
These amounts are the minimum financial responsibility you must prove when applying to register a new vehicle. However, most insurance companies advise you to opt for a policy offering greater coverage. If cost-cutting is not your priority, opting for greater coverage is a great idea because it provides additional protection in an emergency situation.
One way to improve your Massachusetts car insurance premium is to maintain a safe driving record. Most insurance companies keep a record of your violations and adjust your rates accordingly. If you are a cautious driver who does not encounter too many accidents, the insurance companies will be more lenient in offering you added coverage as well.
When you apply for vehicle registration in the state of Massachusetts, your authorized insurance agent will fill out your RMV-1 form declaring your insurance coverage. Failure to fill out this form may result in a delay in your process. Additionally, you may face severe penalties if a traffic cop pulls you over. Avoid the hassle and sign up for an insurance policy today.
Do I have to fulfill the Massachusetts auto insurance requirements before registration?
Yes, you will have to get your vehicle insured prior to registration. For the registration process you will have to provide proof of insurance. You will have to make sure your vehicle is fulfilling the basic minimum requirements. Insurance reflects financial responsibility and has been made mandatory in many states including Massachusetts.
As i as reading about car insurance quotes Massachusetts, I found out that one must be over 16 years of age in this state to qualify for auto-insurance. Really?
Yes, all drivers must be over 16 years of age to apply for car insurance. There are many specialized insurance programs being offered to teens and young adult drivers in the state. This is mainly to help make insurance affordable for teens. Take a look at our page and find out more about car insurance in the state of Massachusetts.