Car Insurance in Maryland
Maryland car insurance laws require drivers to have their cars insured in order to get and maintain their motor vehicle registration. There was a time when insurance was left to the discretion of the car owners, but now vehicle laws have made it a prerequisite for getting the vehicle registered. The ultimate aim of this step is to reduce the numbers of uninsured drivers, so that in case of accident, there is financial protection available to cover all costs associated with the accident.
In Maryland, there are two ways you can go about providing proof of insurance in order to register your vehicle. The first way is you take the proof of insurance, in the form of your insurance ID or the insurance form, to the MVA (Motor Vehicle Administration). Secondly, you may register your vehicle on the condition that you give proof of insurance within the time specified by state law.
In Maryland, Form FR-19 serves as the only form of proof of insurance accepted by the Motor Vehicle Administration, which is the relevant department dealing with all such matters of the state. This form may be requested directly from the insurance company upon purchasing of a car insurance policy by the car owner. The insurance policy or the ID card is not accepted as proof of insurance by the MVA.
Signing the FR-19 means the applicant agrees to maintain minimum vehicle liability insurance so long as the registration stays valid, and that the vehicle will not be brought on the road without first obtaining insurance cover. Therefore it is advisable to shop around for an appropriate insurance policy when purchasing a car.
The minimum cover required by the MVA is:
- $20,000 for physical injury liability for each injured person,
- $40,000 for each accident and
- $10,000 for property damage.
If for some reason you forget to renew your insurance policy upon expiration, your insurance company is required by Maryland law to notify the MVA. Besides this, insurance companies are also obligated to report any new customers and insurance cancellations. Drivers caught by the police without valid insurance risk penalties in the form of fines, cancellation of the driver’s license, or in some cases even suspension of vehicle registration.
I am looking for cheap car insurance in Maryland. Where should I look?
There are a number of cheap insurance providers in Maryland. Many different insurance programs are being offered currently, all designed to fit individual needs and financial circumstances. One must make sure the minimum insurance requirements of the state are being met. For more information, take a look at our pages.
What are the basic Maryland car insurance requirements?
In Maryland, all drivers must have insurance. The minimum insurance liabilities and requirements are as follows: $10,000 for property damage per accident, and $20,000 per person bodily injury per accident. You can search through our page and find out more about car insurance and quotes. We provide detailed information about auto insurance.