Car Insurance in Oklahoma
Obtaining car insurance as a motorist is probably the most important thing you will do. In order to drive in Oklahoma you need to show that you have funds available to cover any accidental damage to your car or the car of another motorist who suffers on account of your negligence.
To get your car registered you need to bring your personal ID cards, proof of insurance cards and vehicle title to the DMV. Within thirty days of registration, you must take your vehicle to the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) or Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) for inspection purposes to verify the odometer reading and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
If you do not want to insure your vehicle, you can deposit $75,000 cash with the DPS or an authorized state financial institution, get an Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan for coverage, obtain self-insurance if you have legally own twenty five or more cars, or have an authorized surety company issue you a bond. If you do decide to go with Oklahoma car insurance, the DMV states that drivers must have at least $25,000 for injury or death of one person, $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people, $25,000 for property damage liability coverage, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person for bodily injury liabilities and $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured motorists’ body injuries. While these are minimum requirements by law, you can opt for extra coverage like labor and towing if you can afford them.
You always need to keep proof of Oklahoma car insurance in your car like a certificate of deposit (to the DPS), an insurance ID card, proof of self-insurance, surety bond or Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan. If you are caught by the police without evidence of vehicle insurance, you can face a fine of up to $250, thirty days of jail time or license and registration suspension. However, you can do without insurance if your automobile does not have tags.
Keep these laws of Oklahoma car insurance in mind when registering your car, and drive safe.
What are the Ohio car insurance requirements for cars that have been damaged in a flood or an earthquake?
When the insurance company has to cover 60% to 79% of the car’s market value in order to make the vehicle operable, the Commission will issue a “Salvage” title. When the percentage covering the damage is 80% or more, a “junk” title is issued. Additionally, a label of “Flood Damaged” may also be added to the title if the vehicle was recovered while being submerged in flood waters up to the dashboard and the loss covered by the insurer.
What are the average car insurance quotes Oklahoma?
Due to the Oklahoma’s stormy climate, what with it being called Tornado Alley, car insurance is absolutely essential. With so many cars being flipped around by tornadoes every now and then, insurance policies are the only way to cover the salvage costs and get them operational, or a replacement if need be. The average annual insurance premium that vehicle owners paid is around $1400 so car insurance quotes are on a monthly basis accordingly.