Car Insurance in Rhode Island
In order to drive legally in Rhode Island, you must have auto insurance and keep evidence of it in your vehicle all the time. Failure to do so can cause a fine of five hundred dollars and cause your driver’s license to be suspended for three months. In the event of a traffic violation the penalties might be waived if within ten days you can prove you had proper insurance at the time of the violation.
Rhode Island car insurance laws mandate that drivers must have at least $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person for insurance against bodily injury, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person for under-insured/uninsured motorist coverage, $25,000 per accident for property damage liability coverage, $3,000 per accident for medical payments coverage and $25,000 per accident for uninsured motorist property damage. It is always a good idea to contact an insurance agent to guide you as to what insurance plan will suit you best. Insurance is a tricky issue under law and it is always good to opt for the most credible insurer.
In Rhode Island, car insurance is necessary before you register an automobile and you must agree to abide by the Rhode Island car insurance laws consistently throughout the vehicle’s registration period. Thus you should keep evidence in your car, such as your insurance card or the insurance agent’s signature on an official letterhead, in case you ever need to show it.
Insurance rates are affected by factors like age, gender, where you and your car live. Keep in mind though that the average annual premium for Rhode Island car insurance is around two hundred dollars higher than the national average so you may probably end up paying more than you think. However, you can sometimes get discounts if you are a college alumni or a teacher at Rhode Island.
The Rhode Island car insurance laws ensure drivers are financially responsible enough to bear the costs associated with driving. Make sure you understand the auto insurance rules, abide by them and drive safely.
According to Rhode Island car insurance laws, are there any penalties for driving without minimum liability insurance?
Yes, you will be penalized. All drivers are required to keep your insurance card within their vehicles and furnish it to the law enforcement officer whenever asked. In the event of a traffic citation if you are found to be driving without insurance, you will be cited and fined around $500. In addition to this, your license will be suspended for three months. These penalties might be waived if you can show within 10 days that you were insured at that time.
My search on Rhode Island car insurance rates led to the mention of the term full coverage. Can you explain what this means?
Full coverage is required in some instances in Rhode Island. For instance, if your car is new, leased or loan-purchased, you might be required to purchase full coverage instead of just liability coverage. Full coverage includes the standard liability protection as well as collision and comprehensive coverage. In the event of an accident, the coverage will protect the other driver and you up to the policy limits.