Car Insurance in South Carolina
As with other states, in South Carolina, car insurance is required if you want to legally operate your vehicle. It provides financial proof that you are a responsible driver who is concerned with protecting your loved ones and other motorists. It also provides you with a sense of relief knowing that you have the means to pay for medical bills and automobile repairs in the event of a car accident.
The minimum amounts of car insurance in South Carolina that are required have been set by the state legislature. These amounts are enough to cover minor costs associated with an accident and meet the legal requirement. If you are looking to save money and fit the costs within your budget, then you should opt for this basic policy. Most insurance companies advise customers to choose a policy which offers more protection; however, premium payments do increase. You never know when an accident might happen, and you cannot predict the extent of the damage all parties may incur.
Having a policy which offers more protection could save you money that you may have to dish out of your own pocket. It is also possible that the basic state requirements do not provide enough insurance for all of your assets. It would be a good idea to work with an insurance agent and develop a customized policy which can meet the state’s needs and keep you financially protected.
The minimum state requirements are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 for personal property
South Carolina car insurance laws allow legal action to be taken against you if your policy has amounts less than the minimum requirement or you fail to provide proof of insurance upon request by law enforcement. You may have your driving license and vehicle registration suspended indefinitely, and reinstating these services will cost you extra money and time. You could also be fined up to $500 dollars for a first time offense, and higher amounts upon repeat incidents.
The state offers the option of paying $550 annually in order to avoid maintaining proof of financial responsibility. These motorists will not be fined if they do not have insurance, but they are responsible for paying for all damages in an accident in which they are at fault.
What are the minimum South Carolina car insurance requirements?
Drivers and other motorists in the state of South Carolina must have car insurance. The state’s department of motor vehicle has set a few minimum requirements for insurance, these are: $25,000 for one person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. More information about the state’s insurance requirements can be found on our page.
My search on car insurance quotes South Carolina mentioned policy cancellations. Can you explain how to go about these?
Every time you cancel a liability insurance policy, the DMV will be notified by your insurance carrier through the Automobile Insurance Liability Reporting System (ALIR). This means that you must provide proof to the DMV that you have purchased another policy from some other insurance carrier. Alternatively you can surrender your license plates. If you fail to do so, your license and registration can be suspended by the DMV.