Drivers Education in Connecticut
Completing Connecticut drivers’ education is necessary for all new drivers between the age of 16 and 18 to obtain a full license with complete driving privileges. These training programs help new drivers develop a sense of the traffic laws applicable to Connecticut residents and also understand how to operate a vehicle properly. The state enforces these courses on all new drivers to encourage more responsible driving and create a safer driving environment within the state.
The Connecticut drivers’ education consists of a more rigorous training program spread over two modules. The first of these focuses on teaching you about the laws and alcohol safety, and the theory behind defensive driving. This is conducted in the form of classroom instructions spread over 30 hours. These lectures are an excellent source of preparatory material for the written component of the driving test.
The practical component begins by putting you in the passenger seat to observe and learn how a vehicle is operated. Following this, you will get time to practice your own skills and develop a comfort with driving the car safely from point A to point B. in addition, your supervisor will ensure that you learn how to conduct basic activities like parallel parking, reverse parking and how to troubleshoot basic problems with your vehicle. This knowledge is useful to have, since you may be quizzed on it during the practical component of your driving test as well. Needless to say then, the Connecticut drivers’ education programs are helping you enter the driving test with greater confidence. When you apply for an intermediate license, you will have to demonstrate that you have completed at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training under various conditions. Going through these state-approved programs can help you knock off a decent chunk of this driving practice as well.
Going through a state-approved program is a better idea than finding a non-state approved training school. This is because your license applications require a certification of completion of your drivers’ education training, and only state approved programs are accepted. It is also safer to gain training from a school which understands the state’s requirements.