Drivers Education in Georgia
Drivers education in Georgia is required for those who are 17 years of age or younger, in order to obtain their provisional driver’s license. Some of the basic requirements for obtaining Class D provisional driver’s license in Georgia are:
- Applicant must be at least 16 years old
- He/she must have held an instructional permit for a minimum of one-year
- He/she must have not been cited for any major traffic violations
- He/she must have held the instructional permit without suspension
- Applicant who is 16 years of age must satisfy Joshua’s Law requirements
What are Joshua’s Law requirements? An applicant applying for the Class D driver’s license will be required to prove that he/she has successfully completed the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) approved driver education course. Furthermore, he/she will have to show that he/she has completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, out of which 6 hours of supervised driving was done at night.
- Applicant who is 17 years of age will have to prove that he/she has successfully completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, out of which 6 hours of supervised driving was done at night. However he/she does not need to enroll in a driver education course approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
Once the above mentioned applicable provisions of the state’s laws are successfully fulfilled, an applicant will be further asked to successfully pass the:
- Vision exam
- Road skills test
At the successful completion of the above mentioned steps, an applicant will be issued a provisional driver’s license. There is one more requirement for those who are under 18 years of age; their driver’s license application must be signed by either one of the following:
- Legal guardian
- Responsible adult
- Authorized driver training instructor
Parents, legal guardians, authorized driver training instructor or a responsible adult who has signed off on the application may also ask for the revocation of the provisional driver’s license before the driver attains the age of 18 years. The state of Georgia follows a strict driving code. Therefore, follow the traffic laws and drive safely.
How old do I have to be to qualify for a provisional drivers license GA?
Drivers in Georgia need to be at least 16 years of age top get a provisional license. This is the same as a permit and is issued for learning purposes. Drivers can only drive with this license for a limited hours a day, and under the supervision of a licensed adult.