Georgia Driving Permit
Georgia’s Driving Permit
Would be drivers need to obtain a drivers permit before they can have a drivers license. A driver’s permit will allow them to drive their motor vehicles subject to some restrictions and curfew timings. You have to be at least 15 years of age to be able to apply for a driver’s permit in any state. Teenagers have a lot of restrictions that they need to abide by even if they have a driver’s permit. They are to be accompanied by an adult or a guardian at all times. And in different states there are time curfews for driving at night. Also, before you get a driver’s permit it is important that you take driver’s education.
You can obtain a Georgia driving permit for any vehicle. When you apply for a learner’s permit you have to go through a series if written and practical exams to ensure that you are indeed now capable of driving. Since 2007, the state of Georgia has made it compulsory for all teenage drivers to take driver’s education course before they can apply for their Georgia driver’s permit. The documents that are essential for you to have for the application include certified birth certificate, social security card, certificate of school attendance and a $10 license fee. On the basis of school attendance a lot of applicants may get their applications rejected. For example, if you have more than 10 unexcused absences from school, you cannot apply for a learner’s permit. Before you can apply for your regular class D driver’s permit you will need to complete a state approved driver’s education course. If you fail the tests that follow, you can appear two more times to give it another try. The ‘Georgia Driver’s Manual’ is of great help as it outlines all the laws and regulations of traffic and road ethics that you need to know to pass the written and knowledge test.
In the event that you lose your driver’s permit, you can apply for its replacement from the local customer service centre at the DMV. In a nutshell, having a driver’s permit in the state of Georgia ensures your privilege of driving in that state.