New Jersey Driving Permit
Being able to drive on the roads in the state of New Jersey is possible through a number of stages. The first one involves acquiring a New Jersey driving permit that puts you on the early bird road.
Student Learner’s Permit
In order to be eligible for obtaining the student learner’s permit in New Jersey, you should be at least 16 years of age. You can apply for a learner’s permit by first obtaining a New Jersey Driver Manual and carefully going through it to get a proper understanding of the various traffic laws and other rules and regulations. This will help you in preparing you for the written test that has to be cleared in order to qualify for a New Jersey driving permit.
Next, you have to clear the vision test which requires that you have 20/50 visual acuity, i.e. the ability to make out sharp and fine details of objects.
Before you can obtain your student learner’s permit, you have to show a 4-point ID that includes the following documents:
- A certified civil birth certificate
- A US Department of State birth certificate
- US adoption papers
- A certificate of naturalization or a certificate indicating your US citizenship
Proof of being enrolled in a training course for drivers is also needed, as is a signed consent form or letter from your parent or guardian. A fee of $ 10 is charged for issuing the permit, which has the following restrictions.
- You can only drive while accompanied with a licensed adult driver who is at least 21 years of age and has a driving experience of a minimum of three years.
- Other than the members of your own household, you can only have one passenger in your car, unless you have a parent or guardian riding in the same vehicle.
- You have to be wearing a seatbelt at all times and the usage of any form of electronic device such as cell phones, laptops, iPads and hand-held video games is strictly prohibited.
- Besides observing all the above-mentioned restrictions, you can only drive from 5 a.m. onwards till 11 p.m.
Lastly, you have to hold a New Jersey driving permit for up to six months before you can apply for a young adult’s probationary license.