Virginia License Plates
License plates are important if you wish to drive legally anywhere in the world. They offer an immediate source of identification for your vehicle, and can be used to track down the owner as well. Each state issues license plates independently of the other, so Virginia license plates will be specific to all vehicles within the region.
In order to obtain your Virginia license plates, you simply have to approach your local DMV and provide them your title number and vehicle identification number. Both of these details can be found easily on your registration card. Payment can be made via cash, check or credit card, and the processing fee is not very expensive. Your plates will take roughly 7 days to arrive, and will be delivered to your doorstep by the DMV.
In cases where you are buying or selling a used car, you will have to replace the license plates as well. This is because a car transaction will involve a change in the title document, and the license plates will have to be updated to reflect this change. Virginia state law gives you a certain period of time – normally 15 days after the transaction – to remove your plates and for the buying party to obtain new ones.
Virginia license plates are highly customizable. Residents can apply for their license plates online and choose from over 200 special designs which reflect particular causes. Those willing to pay an additional fee can also get their university logo and name printed on the plates. The law simply requires that the logo does not interfere with the readability of the numbers on the plate itself. If you want, you can also choose your own combination of letters and numbers to be placed on the plate. This will involve extra annual payment.
Cars which are over 25 years old and used in antique roadshows require a special kind of plate which can be obtained upon demonstrating proof of the car’s age and paying a $50 fee. It is extremely important that you get your license plates immediately when you buy a new or used car; failure to do so can result in a confiscation of your driving privileges.