Washington Vehicle Registration Renewal
Whether you are in Ohio or Washington, vehicle registration renewal is a process you must complete regularly in order to continue driving your vehicle in the state. Completing this process allows the state to keep an updated record of the number of cars being driven within its state, and prevents you from running into any trouble with the law.
The Washington vehicle registration renewal process is very simple to complete, and you can choose from a variety of options to go through it, based on your convenience. Your application for renewal will be received and processed by Washington’s Department of Licensing. You can approach their local office personally, visit their website, or renew your vehicle’s registration via the mail. Roughly 90 days before your vehicle’s registration expires, the Department of Licensing will send you a notice informing you of the upcoming deadline. If you realize that your documents are about to expire but you have not received a notice, you should contact the Department of Licensing to find out the reason for the delay.
In order to complete the Washington vehicle registration renewal, you will have to provide your vehicle’s license plate numbers, your current address, and the driver’s license number of the vehicle’s registered owner(s). If you have recently changed your address, you must fill out a separate form to request that the information is updated in the Department of Licensing’s records. Payment can be made via cash, check, pay order, or debit. Your new tabs can be sent to your home within 5 working days or you can choose to pick them up personally when they are ready. If you do not receive any notification of your tabs within 15-90 days, you can request replacements to be issued to your name.
You do not have to wait until you receive the renewal notice to make a move on the process. You have the option of renewing your tabs as early as 6 months to the actual expiration date. Driving an unregistered vehicle is not acceptable under Washington laws, and can result in heavy fines or a complete confiscation of your driving privileges.