North Carolina Vehicle Title Transfer
The ownership of a vehicle is recorded in a document that is known as its title. When you transfer a car to another individual, the Department of Motor Vehicles does not issue a new title, but processes a transfer of title as well.
In North Carolina, vehicle title transfer is a process which must be completed within 28 days of the delivery date. Otherwise, you are liable to pay an additional penalty of $15 to the DMV. This vehicle title transfer is required in a number of situations. If you are purchasing a car, or gifting it to a friend or relative, you need to complete this process. Even if you inherit a car from a deceased relative, or are interested in donating to a charity, the title transfer will incorporate the change in ownership that occurs as a result.
North Carolina vehicle title transfer in the case of a simple transaction requires certain additional paperwork to be filed. If your vehicle is under 10 years old, you will need to include an Odometer Disclosure Statement in your application recording the exact mileage of the car. The seller is also required to submit a Damage Disclosure Statement which should include the buyer’s signature. All of these documents reflect that the buyer and seller are on the same page regarding the nature of their purchase, and the transaction can proceed smoothly as a result. Lastly, the seller is legally required to remove their license plates from the vehicle. A title transfer cannot take place if the old license plates are left on the vehicle.
If you bought your vehicle from a private dealer in North Carolina, vehicle title transfer is much more straightforward to process. This is because the dealer will take care of most of the paperwork on your behalf. You will be asked to pay the $40 fee to the DMV required for the processing of your title transfer document. If you want to get the title transfer processed much more quickly, you can pay an additional $35 for instant processing.
The titling process complete, you can freely drive your vehicle in the state of North Carolina and elsewhere as the true owner of the car.
What is the process to change West Virginia car title to NC title?
You will first have to visit your local DMV office and obtain an application for title transfer. This from will successfully transfer the title from one party to another. You can also apply for a new license plate. If you need more detail about title transfers, take a look at our pages.
Can you tell me about the basic NC Title Transfer Requirements?
To transfer a car in North Carolina, you will have to submit a number of documents and fill out a title transfer form. These forms are available at the DMV office in your locality. You will also have to provide proof of your residency, social security, odometer readings, and more. Title transfers also require a fee to be paid. For more detail, take a look at our page.
As I was reading about the North Carolina vehicle transfer laws, I came across a damage disclosure certificate. What is this?
A damage disclosure certificate is a document that is usually provided by a seller of the car. This certificate verifies the condition of the car and discloses any information related to any accident that the vehicle has been through. Buyers must ask for this certificate when buying a car. To find out more about this, browse through our pages.