Massachusetts Driving Under Influence
The state of Massachusetts has some of the harshest penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol. Not only will you be required to pay heavy fines, your license will be suspended immediately and you may even face time in jail. This is just for the first offense; it gets more severe for subsequent offenses. Massachusetts dui laws are harsh in order to deter rash driving and any possibility of endangering the safety of other motorists. Driving is a privilege that must be earned, and irresponsibility should be punished.
According to the law of the state, if you are 21 years old and test with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% you are considered to be driving while impaired. Under Massachusetts dui laws, refusing to take a breath test is grounds for an immediate suspension of your license. If you violate the traffic laws in Massachusetts while driving under the influence, the penalties will hit your wallet as gravely as they will your driving record. First offenses themselves can incur penalties as high as $5,000 dollars and a jail sentence of up to 2.5 years. Your license will be suspended for 6 months as well.
Only in the case of first time offenders, the state offers an option of reducing your sentence by agreeing to enter a state-approved alcohol education program. This leniency is not available to repeat offenders. However, the cost of the penalties and duration of suspension does significantly increase. Did you know that a second offense in Massachusetts spikes your fines to $10,000 and a suspension of your privileges for up to 2 years?
Contesting a Massachusetts dui decision is also an expensive process, requiring as much as $5,000 to hire an experienced attorney. In addition, you will have to pay fees to reinstate your suspended license, tow your vehicle, pay the magistrate for bail – the cost of your offense outside of fines can easily cross $6,000. And you must also consider the impact your DUI will have on your insurance premiums. These staggering amounts should be enough to discourage anyone from trying to drive while impaired.