New Jersey Driving Under Influence
Alcohol consumption affects the overall driving ability by impairing the senses, reaction time and coordination. This will lead to erroneous distance judgment that can cause fatal accidents. For this reason New Jersey DUI laws very strictly penalize the offenders. Traffic police officers test the alcohol level through a breath test that measures the Blood Alcohol Concentration of the driver. Drivers aged twenty one years and older are permitted to drive with a BAC level of less than 0.08 percent in New Jersey. For drivers under twenty one years of age, it is illegal to drive with even a BAC of 0.01 percent.
Your refusal to take a breath test will be considered equivalent to driving with a BAC of 0.10 percent for the first offense. The penalty will be suspension of driving privileges for seven months to one year. If the BAC is found to be greater than 0.08% but less than 0.10%, first time violators are fined $250 to $400 along with a three month license suspension. For the second offense the license will be suspended for two years and upon a third offense for ten years. The fine will range from $500 to $1000.
All DUI offenders are required to stay at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for twelve to forty eight hours. First time offenders can earn a jail stay of up to thirty days. This increases to 90 and 180 days upon a second and third offense respectively within ten years of the previous offense.
In addition to this, MVC will subject you to an insurance surcharge (or fine) of $1000 per year for a total of three years. For a third offense the surcharge can increase to $1500. If you refuse to pay this surcharge, driving privileges will be suspended indefinitely until the surcharge is paid. Repeat DUI offenders may be required to install ignition interlock device which requires the drivers to blow into it every time they intend to start the car. The vehicle will not start if the BAC is more than 0.05%. You can also hire a DUI attorney for proper representation in court if you feel that the DUI charges leveled against you are unwarranted.